page contents

Australia vs India: Boxing Day Test In Melbourne As India Tour Dates Confirmed

Cricket Australia Wednesday confirmed that India will play a four-Test series on their upcoming tour Down Under, with the Melbourne Cricket Ground internet hosting the second Test on December 26. The announcement got here hours after Australia’s second largest metropolis exited a months-long coronavirus lockdown which enabled the MCG to verify it will stage its conventional Boxing Day Test. The battle for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy will start with India’s first day-night Test in Australia on the Adelaide Oval on December 17, adopted by Melbourne earlier than transferring to the Sydney Cricket Ground on January 7 with the tour finale at Brisbane’s Gabba on January 15.  

Neither facet has misplaced a day-night Test beforehand, with the Australian males’s workforce profitable all 4 pink-ball Tests in Adelaide towards New Zealand, South Africa, England and Pakistan, and India profitable their solely encounter at Eden Gardens versus Bangladesh in 2019.  

“Australia and India represents one of many nice rivalries in world sport and we’re delighted to welcome Virat Kohli’s outstanding squad to Australian shores this summer time,” Nick Hockley of Cricket Australia mentioned.

Pandemic allowing, the India squad will arrive on November 12 and full quarantine and Covid protocols earlier than the primary of three one-day internationals on November 27.

After three 50-over video games and three Twenty20s in Sydney and Canberra the tour will transfer to Adelaide, Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane for the Tests.

Dates for the tour had been delayed by a coronavirus outbreak in Melbourne and wrangling over quarantine necessities.

India tour to Australia*

One-day worldwide sequence:

November 27 – 1st ODI (Sydney, day-night)

November 29 – 2nd ODI (Sydney, day-night) 

December 2 – third ODI (Canberra, day-night)  

Twenty 20 worldwide sequence:

December 4 – 1st T20 (Canberra, night time)

December 6 – 2nd T20 (Sydney, night time)

December 8 – third T20 (Sydney, night time)

Border-Gavaskar Trophy Test sequence

December 17-21 – 1st Test (Adelaide Oval, day-night)

December 26-30 – 2nd Test (Melbourne) 

January 7-11 – third Test (Sydney)


January 15-19 – 4th Test (Brisbane) 

*Matches and journey stay topic to any related authorities restrictions or necessities.

Topics talked about on this article

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
%d bloggers like this: